An open letter from a reader to an author…

narrative-794978_640

image credit: pixabay.com

Dear author,

Books are words in motion. Stories vividly told take me to worlds unknown. They let me fall in love, make me hate, sweep my emotions to the highest heights or darkest places.

I read to lose myself. To shove my daily worries aside so I can breathe again. No more family worries. No more teenager stress or financial woes. For the time that book is cracked open and sometimes long after it’s closed, I’m free.

Each story is unique. Each one has potential. I root for every book I endeavor to read.

Nothing disappoints me more than a story that doesn’t reach that potential. Sometimes I press ahead, determined to discover the golden nuggets buried within. I act as an invisible editor, sweeping all those “murmured, mumbles” confusing POV shifts away so I can continue. So I can finish what I’ve begun.

Sad when a story suddenly deflates, leaving me with no choice but to close the book for good. Tragic when a decent editor could’ve helped that author keep that story on track.

So, as a reader, I beg you… move mountains for me. Cast characters that my heart absorbs right off the page. Give me imagery so compelling it lingers long after I’m done. But please, please don’t bore me.

I promise I’m on your side.

love,

A reader

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in a writers tip, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to An open letter from a reader to an author…

  1. Judith Post says:

    Oh, this is tough. I bet every writer WANTS to deliver a good story–No, a great one. But we’re so close to our work, I’m guessing we can’t tell if we succeeded or failed. Even when people say that they liked your work, I think all of us still worry.

    Like

    • You are right- so hard to know if even after writing your best, a reader will enjoy it. But there’s a fine point where a reader understands that and appreciates the effort. I can tell when an author has given it everything they have and when they’ve cut corners. I think we don’t give enough credit to our readers. They understand!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Mom says:

    So true! I’ve read some stories where I’ve thought at points…wow, the editor must have said “stretch this out a little more please.” As a reader, I think I catch on to that pretty quick. As a writer, I need to watch out for that trap!

    Like

  3. This is definitely true. I try to keep the things that drive me crazy as a reader in mind as I’m writing.

    Like

  4. That’s a great way to improve your writing! And doesn’t it press home the importance of reading? Think you’ll share some of your story someday? I’d love a peek!

    Like

  5. Beautiful letter… A great reminder for author that at the end your reader needs to be impressed and entertained.
    Thanks a lot for sharing this Sue!
    Have a great day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Heena- always so nice to see you swing by. Now, I gotta return the favor! Glad to hear your writing is going so well. Keep on trucking!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome dear! And sorry for having been MIA from last 3 months. Was busy with the book πŸ™‚
        By the way, your advices for the first draft really helped me. Thanks Sue!
        Have a great day!

        Like

      • You’re welcome! I was wondering how you translate your outline to draft? How detailed do you make the outline? Do you have chapters laid out? I drafted a novel using the snowflake method, but every time I look at the outline, I feel overwhelmed. Any thoughts? Suggestions?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I do extensive planning. I allowed myself almost two months to just imagine the entire story in my head. When I first started creating the plan, I actually worked my way into the story through scenes instead of chapters.
        One suggestion that I can give you is that whatever is there in your mind, write it down. Doesn’t matter how you’re writing, or in what matter you are writing in or even how less scenes or situations you have with you. When it is done, try and arrange it – like what should come after what – and then you’ll get a nice idea about what is lacking and what more can be added.
        Try not to overthink the first draft because at the end it is just that, the first draft and nothing else. So no need organising it a lot.
        More often than not, 90% of the first draft story don’t even end up in the final MS. So no use wasting time there. It’s just something that gives you a clear idea about your story.
        Also, do character charts, atleast for the MCs. It’s quite helpful. (I did 3 different character charts for each of my characters and it helped me understanding them a lot better.)

        Like

      • These are such great tips! Thank you! I’ve always been more of a panster but then I end up with a big pile of goo. Editing takes forever. So I’m trying my hand at plotting. I love the snowflake method. But I got stuck tying to chart in a spreadsheet all the chapters. It just didn’t work for me. I do have a basic outline and one that’s ready for nano in November. I’m just nervous that it’s too plot and planned! Silly old brain of mine. Thanks for sharing your strategy. I like hearing how others writers approach their work.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome, Sue. And thanks for tolerating my blabbering (hehe!) I love it too, but I didn’t do chapters in spreadsheet. I followed it quite loosely, mostly in a doing-it-my-own-way thing.
        I’m also participating in NaNo but I guess I’ll be planning my second novel rather than writing it. I’m thinking of doing a few short-stories as well. πŸ™‚
        All the best dear!
        Have a great day! πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

