Why I love, love, love….Wattpad!

love-771009_640

 

image credits: pixabay.com

Most authors have a favorite social media site. For some, it’s blogging. For others it may be Facebook, Twitter, or even Pinterest. For me, it’s Wattpad.

With the crazy my life has become, I’ve little time to spend in front of a computer. That means less time to write and less time to catch up with all you wonderful bloggers.

But it doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading. Promise!

For those unfamiliar with Wattpad, allow me to extol its virtues.

Wattpad.com is a site dedicated solely to writing. Authors can create a free account and upload as many of their books (chapter by chapter) for readers to read. Authors can discover new authors, and read, comment and vote on their chapters. Many readers join Wattpad solely to read and discover the next big thing!

 

animal-17474_640

hmmmm…. sounds like a win-win situation to me…

And that’s because it is.

I’ve been working on two stories: Fairless, a YA fantasy; Summoned, an historical fantasy. Both have gained readership with each chapter uploaded. Like all social media sites, one must follow and support others in order to gain followers… which for me is super awesome as I get to read some great books!

But here’s the icing on the cake… the kicker… the extra scoop of sprinkles…

musician-664432_640

Wattpad allows you to see who is reading your books. How awesome is that!!

They’ve installed nifty demographic pie charts which show you:

1) percentage of readers who are male/female or unidentified (must be a dogs have learned to read).

2) percentage of age ranges reading your story

3) what countries they hail from

4) stats showing when your readers are reading

Here is what I’ve learned:

1) Fairless is read primarily by women over the age of 45 (go figure!)

2) they hail primarily from the US

3) is read by mostly other writers on Wattpad

4) Summoned is read by women primarily from 13-18 years old (really?!)

5) Most are from the US

6) Almost all are on Wattpad exclusively as readers

In a world where knowing your reader can help you sell books, how valuable is THAT information! Like I said before…

I’m in love!

Happy writing… and if you’re interested in scoping out my work, I’m on Wattpad under the name Vermontwriter. Just sign up for a free account and look me up. And who knows, maybe you’ll fall in love with this delightful social media site too.

Cheers!

Sue

 

 

 

 

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in a writers tip, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why I love, love, love….Wattpad!

  1. Is Wattpad better then Writing.Com? I signed up at Writing.Com but I don’t really like the vibe I’m getting from the site.

    Like

    • I’m not sure- I’ve never used writing.com. Wattpad has its great writers and it’s not so great. A lot of young people trying out writing for the first time. But there are some great stories and I’m making some good connections. Don’t expect to receive a ton of feedback unless you ask. It’s really like “seeing behind the scenes when your book is taken out of the library” kind of experience. Like all sites it take time and effort to develop relationships.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Judith Post says:

    Hooray! You’re getting great feedback, and glad both books are gaining readers. Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your success Sue! I can’t believe I haven’t spent more time on Wattpad . I need to check it out more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Congratulations Sue! It’s amazing that you’re books are getting read by so many people 🙂
    And thanks for sharing the information. I have an account on Wattled but I was a bit skeptical uploading my chapters there… is it safe? Well I’m sure that if you’re putting them up it has to be, but still I really need to know…!!!

    Like

    • Yes, I’ve found Wattpad to be a good site. Many people use it simply to discover new authors! I have had good luck with it so far and would encourage others to give it a go. It’s a great way to see who is reading your book! Good luck and let me know if you post!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Sue! I’ll definitely do so (and soon.)
        I’m done with my first draft and now I guess I’ll be taking 2-3 week break from the book. I’ll start the 2nd draft (constructing chapters) by the end of July I guess, so I’ll put them on Wattled… I’ll definitely let you know. 🙂
        Thanks a ton!!!

        Like

      • A break is good! Give yourself some distance and it’ll be easier to go back with a fresh approach! Good luck!

        Like

Leave a Reply

