5 steps to chapter revision…

book-436507_640

 image credit: pixabay.com

Next up: breaking down your story into bite size pieces. I have to be careful not to overload my creative little mind, so at this stage, I’m still focused on the macro while examining chapters. Here are five steps I find handy:

1) I work off a printed copy of the story, so any changes I make at this point aren’t permanent. This is important. It gives me freedom to read with a critical eye. Later, when I’m ready to make changes to my digital version, I make a copy of THAT document (again, freeing myself from the worry that I’ll delete something important).

2) Next, looking at chapters from a macro lens, I ask myself the hard questions.

Does the chapter have a reason to exist? Is it fluff? Backstory? Does it drive the story forward or hold it back? What part of each chapter works, what doesn’t?

Once I’ve identified weak chapters, I mark them with a sticky note and write something like “this chapter is going bye-bye, but keep the dialog on page so-and-so. It’s too awesome to cut.”

You may have heard the expression, “kill your darlings?” Yup, I’m pretty vicious at this point, but I wasn’t always this way. When I first started writing, I fell in love with every word. I truly couldn’t see one stinking thing to cut! Time, distance, exposure to new ideas and three novels later, I’ve become a heartless writer. I make bold decisions, deleting without fear (insert mwah-ha-ha).

3) Chapter order. Again, using that pulled-back macro filter, I look at where I’ve put turning point chapters (or even just scenes). Do they make sense where they fall? Or could I up the tension by rearranging the order? Yes, this is a pain. Cutting chapters, or moving them around destroys transitions. But at this point, you have to go back and re-work the entire novel anyways. Why not get the big stuff done first?

4) Chapter structure. As in, does it have one? I mentioned in my previous post that I use the Snowflake Method by Randy Ingermanson to plot. Randy (yes, we’re on a first-name basis) suggests each chapter is either a goal, conflict, set-back or reaction, dilemma, decision. Taking the printed copy, I scan the surviving chapters to see if it meets one of these criteria. It’s amazing how I’m able to see the weaknesses and the strengths more clearly using this method. Sometimes, all the chapter or scene needs is a bit of tweaking to tighten the tension.

5) I know some of you are itching to take out that red pen. So, it’s time. Keeping in mind I’m not looking at sentence structure yet, I mark passages that drag and need cutting. I’m reading as a reader – looking at the chapter critically and thinking Where am I skimming? Where have I lost the tension? Do I have enough dialog and action to move the story forward?

I’ll look at chapter again next week. For now, I hope these general tips and ideas are helpful. And please, as always, I’d love to hear your take on revision!

Happy writing!

Sue

************************

Looking for more writing tips? My author website can be found at www.suebahr.com

Looking for a taste of my writing? I can be found on wattpad.com under “Vermont Writer.”

Thanks for visiting!

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in a writers tip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 5 steps to chapter revision…

  1. Judith Post says:

    More good advice! For not being a fan of revisions, your advice is spot on.

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    3.5 weeks, 2 chapters edited and revised. I need a vacation Sue!

    Like

  3. Thanks a lot Sue, for such amazing tips… I really needed help with Chapter stuff… for now (as I’m on my first draft) I’m just writing what I want in the book… I’ll organise the chapters later on (or do you recommend otherwise?)
    I’ve bookmarked this post and will read it when I’ll be dividing and creating chapters… 🙂
    Thanks again ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • First drafts should be fluid and unhindered by too much structure- at least that’s what works for me. Second drafts are the best time to look at the big changes. Thanks for swinging by, you busy lady! I appreciate all the comments!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yea… I guess I’ll also follow you for this writing pattern 🙂
        Hehehe! All the workouts and blogging with new reviews for my blog is really over whelming me… Hopefully I’ll be back on track by the end of this month 🙂
        I really love reading all your helpful and fun posts Sue! You are the best ❤
        Have a great day dear 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the feedback and the sweet comments. I can well imagine you are overwhelmed, Heena, you’ve set some ambitious goals! I wish you all the best!

        Like

Leave a Reply

