Writer’s improvement hell – tag lines in dialogue

A great post examining dialogue tags. A must read!

On Writing Dragons

writers improvement

As I steadfastly continue to procrastinate on finishing up the last few chapters of my book, I’m making a mental list of problems I need to sort out when the process of iterative revisions begins. One issue that came to my attention a couple days ago is the use of tag lines. You know, those bits of sentence at the end of dialogue that run ‘he said’ or ‘she asked’.

Usually, I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about the dialogue tags. Perhaps I should, but I don’t. Anyhow I started thinking about it because I ran across a blog post on the topic, and not the first. The basic take away of these various posts has been to avoid the use of dialogue tags. Perhaps I’m misinterpreting these bits of advice, but I’m not so sure. The favored approach seems to be to simply use the ‘he said’/’she…

View original post 781 more words

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writer’s improvement hell – tag lines in dialogue

  1. Judith Post says:

    Uggh–dialogue tags IS one of the things I look at in my writing. They can affect the story’s flow. But do I have a brilliant opinion? Nope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

