Very interesting…

I won’t finish the title with my favorite ending (you know, from Rowan & Martin’s Laugh In? Where the little guy with the German accent says Very interesting, but stupid? Yup. it’s a link, especially for you youngies who don’t know what Laugh In is… or was)

Sorry. I am way off course…

Okay, so I’m in this facebook group called “Pat’s first kindle”. It’s filled with some heavy hitters – best seller Kindle folks who write, of all things, “how to” books. One fine fellow posted a link that looked at the way people read today vs a bazillion years ago (sorry, I don’t keep accurate numbers or names in my head. Thus, the exaggeration and ambiguous “they” references). The post looked at how people read electronic devices – iphones, tablets and such and found that when on such devices, they are skimming for information. How many times have you been on facebook and scrolled? How many times do you actually open a link and finish a blog post?

Then they looked at how people approach paper books and found people generally read “deeper”. When was the last time you skimmed through a really, really good book? Don’t we all love those ones that capture and hold us? Ones where we actually get lost in the story?

I cherish but a handful of books. Sad there aren’t more, but I’m a picky reader and I can’t seem to shut off that pesky inner editor.

BUT, I do find I’m more forgiving of a traditionally printed book than of e-books. I always wondered why so few e-books truly draw me in. My kindle is full of partially sampled and completely unfinished stories. Most are on par with what I’d find at a bookstore, so does this finally explain my inexplicable reluctance to dive in and get lost in an electronic story?

Seems to make sense. I’m a writer. I stare at a computer, endlessly tweaking and killing adverbs. Adjusting fragments. Or the passive tense that stalks my writing I’m taking out. So, when I see errors on a screen, I just want to scream!

What about you? Do you read e-books (fiction in particular) the same way you read printed books?

 

 

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Very interesting…

  1. Judith Post says:

    I read paperback books and e-books the same way–slowly. Wish I could read faster, but it’s not in my DNA. If I like something, I savor it. I will admit, though, that page numbers make a big difference to me. If there are no page numbers, the books FEELS long to me. Same with wearing a watch. If I don’t have my watch on, a fifteen minute wait can feel like forever. Not sure why.

    Like

    • I’m the same way with page numbers! Sometimes kindles irritate me when I can’t tell what page I’m on. 20% means nothing to this old brain. Give me page 123, and I’m a happy camper. I’m also a slow reader and as you know, a slow writer. Got the best of both worlds! Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mom says:

    Oop…you hit my soft underbelly! I will look at an ebook sample to see whether or not I like the writing style. Then, if I do, I’ll get usually a paperback. And I’ll read it…like really read it. I may take months to get to it, but once I pick it up, I give it my full attention. Then (here’s where Artie Johnson kicks in with the meaty part of his famous line…”but STUPID!”) if it’s one I have loved, I but it again in hardback and keep it on my bookshelf. If I am obsessed with the story (ok, yes, it happens to me more often than it should :)) I will seek out an autographed hard back. On rare occassion, if I need some quick info, I read a book all the way through on my nook/kindle/phone/laptop…but if’s it’s got worthwhile info, I still have to compulsively purchase a hard copy 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve done the same thing! I’ll check out a sample on Kindle and if I like the book I’ll buy a hardcopy. Although I treasure these books, I don’t think I take it to your level. But it’s so good to know that readers can cherish a book that much. Makes me think maybe I should go the traditional route more then self-publishing. hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ejfrostuk says:

    I read print and ebooks the same way, but I very rarely re-read ebooks. When I find a book I’m going to read again and again, I’ll buy the hard copy. Those favorite books become like reference books for me. I’ll pick them up when I’m feeling low, or feeling the need for inspiration, or just when I want to read before bed. Favorite books are treasures, and for me, treasures need to be tangible, not electronic!

    Like

    • Isn’t it amazing that all three comments are the same! Everyone reads ebooks one time but they really read hard covered books over and over again! It makes me wonder as an author if Ebooks really are the right direction. I know your self published what do you think

      Like

      • ejfrostuk says:

        Honestly, I have very mixed feelings about ebooks. The inexpensiveness of production is both a blessing and curse, for readers and writers.

        Personally as an author, I want readers to be able to have hard copies of my books if they want them and I’ve jumped through the hoops on CreateSpace to make them available. I make less in terms of royalties on the hard copies, and paid through the nose for the hard copy cover art, but it’s a labor of love. There have been a few hard copy sales (although nothing like the ebook sales), so I guess there are some readers who feel the same way I do and I’m glad I’ve made the effort for them.

        Like

      • I know- when i publish I would love for my readers to be able to purchase hard copies too. It’s one if the pitfalls of ebooks- they are so cheap- its easier for someone to take a chance on an unknown author for a dollar or two. Not so much to shell out ten or more on something you might not enjoy! I think we will see more changes in the industry- in fact I would love to work with other authors to create those changes!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmm. I’ve never thought about this until now. As much as I love my Kindle for reading books, I do tend to still get sucked into print books more. I’ve yet to re-read a Kindle book, whereas I’ve got a pile of novels I’ve re-read many times: Stephen King, JK Rowling, Rick Riordan, etc. While I couldn’t do without my Kindle, e-books just don’t capture the same essence that you find in a “regular” book.

    Like

  5. Autumn Star says:

    I seem to read more faster on phone and tablet than with books. I also seem to understand more when I read on them than books. Does that sound weird?

    Like

Leave a Reply

