Wonderful Writerly Wednesdays…

nano

Most of you know I’m planning on doing Nanowrimo this year. That’s a tall order for a little noodle  like me, but I can’t help it. I love the invisible structure, the almost-achievable goals and the insanity that is all things Nano.

No, I don’t haunt the forums. And writer buddies? I’ve never had one before, so I don’t know how that works. All I know is the act of sitting in a chair with a laptop, an outline and word goal makes for some mad and crazy writing.

Last year was easy. I wrote a historical romance called “The Guardian.” What a blast tormenting those two poor souls! The year before, I wrote a ya fantasy called “Fairless.” Now that was a different beast. I dove in, sans outline, thinking What could go wrong?

What indeed.

Flash forward two years and I’m still plowing through character deficiencies and plot holes. Forget about pacing and structure. And where did I put that Smidgeon? Isn’t he important? So why did he suddenly vanish on page 43?

This year is another ya with fantasy elements. No way I am gonna wing it. This creature’s getting plotted  BEFORE I sit down to write. But where to start?

I’d heard of the book How to Write a Novel Using the Snowflake Method (Advanced Fiction Writing Book 1) by Randy Ingermanson and was curious. I downloaded it  onto my Kindle and dug in. What an awesome book! I’m neither a plotter nor a panster, so this ten step method is perfect for me. I loved creating the outline so organically. My favorite step ? Describing your target audience.

Who is going to read this book and why?

Wanna hear mine? Sure you do, you’ve read this far!

“Lisa” is 17, a Junior in high school. She wishes she could write and do something as crazy as Nano, but she knows she can’t. She tries and gets bored. Let others do the work. She’ll enjoy the read. She wants contemporary adventure. Give her a strong female lead and a swoon-worthy boy. Give them huge obstacles and mostly? Give her a twist she doesn’t expect. Outsmart her. Keep her on her toes.

There. That’s the gist of “Lisa”.

When I  sit down early Saturday morning to begin writing this beast I call “Drift”, my outline handy and two chocolate bars unrwapped and ready to go, you can bet your sweet bippidy I’m going to have Lisa in mind every step of the way.

So, who’s your target person? Care to share?

Cheers to all of you-

Sue

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Wonderful Writerly Wednesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wonderful Writerly Wednesdays…

  1. ellenbest24 says:

    Good post!
    I unlike you, i am now struggling with the things I have left to do before the 1st. Thinking of who my reader may be has sent me into a catatonic state.
    I would like to believe that my target is…any women, females who like a good read; mothers of young children, historians and lovers of the 1960’s -1970’s people who have faith in words and want to work out the twist. I am not ageist or sexist so all genders will be catered for; if it kills me (and it probably will).
    Thank you for a good read and a bit of fun.
    Good luck on the Na No stage.

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Ok, love Lisa! I’m writing for my “Homeys” all the middle aged, middle sized, midway down the road of crazy women out there who suddenly find themselves “aged out” of their long-time gig as PTO princess and Room Mother and Event Chair par Excelance! You know, us ol bats who annoy everyone else at Starbucks when we laugh like crows and linger way past our turn in the upholstered seats. Yep. I’m pretty much writing for me…and I’m doing it straight from the seat of my pants 🙂

    Like

  3. Judith Post says:

    Hmm, I don’t think about my target audience very much. I’ll have to fiddle with that.

    Like

  4. Love Lisa! I’m thinking my target audience will be YAs and Adults who like YA fiction. I’m both excited and nervous about Saturday morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

