What’s Sue up to….

What’s Sue up to? Well, for one thing, I’m redesigning this blog. Look for lots of changes both to the design and the content. Thanks to my dear friend, Kassie I’ve got some ideas on how to freshen things up a bit. Lots and lots of great ideas….

Well, when you see them you’re not going to believe it.

For today, as it’s a warm day and a day off – two things I love in tandem, I thought I’d share what I’m currently reading. Forget Divergent or Fault in Our Stars… today I’m reading my most beloved, cherished, favorite book of all time…

spiderstone

 

That’s right, just call this post “Throw Back Thursday,” because this baby is dated circa 1973.

Gosh, how I love this book. How many times have I read it? A few dozen? At least. This is my original copy–one of the only things that survived puberty, college, marriage and moving. Eleanor Elford Cameron does Gothic suspense like nobody can.

Here’s what’s on the back cover:

 She held it in her hand–the smooth flat stone, with the design of a deadly black widow spider engraved on it as if by an unknown devil. What power did this weird relic have over the two men who wooded her… the small child whom she desperately tried to protect… the danger that shadowed her…?

Dana Whitcomb knew that her one hope of salvation, or her final seal of doom, lay in unlocking the strange and terrible secret of The Spider Stone.

Don’t ya just love it? And the pages are worn and brown with age–just like old Sue!

So, what are YOU reading? Got any favs you care to share? Please let me know and leave a comment.

Cheers!

Sue

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s Sue up to….

  1. Mom says:

    I’m stumbling my way through Glass Castle (Janette Walls). I keep starting and stopping. Attention span like a gnat!

    Like

  2. Judith Post says:

    I have two, old books of short stories, and I reread my favorites off and on. My sister hired a book detective to track down Theodore Sturgeon’s e pluribus unicorn. The first story, The Silken Swift, is free online now. I think it’s one of the most beautiful stories I’ve ever read. The second book is The Nine Brides and Granny Hite. A sewing circle makes a quilt for each young woman who’s going to get married, and the to-be-bride has to tell how she caught her man while they sew. Pretty fun.

    Like

  3. Lori Lipsky says:

    Terrific new look for your site, Sue. I like it! Great idea to share your much-loved book. I suppose my favorite is The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. Real life horrors and heroism. I’ve read it several times. I’m a big Historical Fiction/non-fiction fan and not much into fantasy (sorry), but many of my very favorite people love fantasy. 🙂

    P.S. It was sweet of you to buy the poetry book!!!

    Like

    • thanks Lori! Playing around today – lots of fun. I love Historical fiction, too. Fantasy is a huge genre right now. Think the movies – as in Hunger Games, Divergent and Harry Potter.
      P.S. It was my pleasure. What a great read. And I loved the feeling of your poem. Bitter sweet like good dark chocolate.
      cheers to you!
      Sue

      Like

  4. I love the new look Sue! And that book looks very interesting. I just finished an ARC of When by Victoria Laurie. It’s coming out in January. It’s about a girl who sees the dates of people’s deaths on their foreheads. I thought it was a great story and I loved the characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

