Sue’s Second Life…

warehouse3

In the midst of a poor night’s sleep, I had a revelation.

Gravatars and wordpress – a blog is like a “Second Life.” Please allow me to paint a picture – and know I’m really not crazy!

***************

When I decided to blog about my writing, it felt like I was driving down a long, deserted stretch of road. You know the kind – broken concrete with weeds growing up from the cracks and derelict warehouses around every bend.

I pulled up to my designated spot and turned off the car. I’d asked for the code to enter, but felt such foreboding. Open this Pandora’s Box? Create a website where others can comment, attack or worse- ignore? Just what the hell am I doing? I don’t belong here – I’m a country girl, for crying out loud. They’ll eat me alive.

I blew out a breath and steadied my nerves. Isn’t this what all writers are supposed to do? Create a “platform”. Find readers for the publishers that might produce my book someday? I’d heard it all and had enough – it was time to end my self-imposed exile and reach out to others.

The door was rusty and gross. This? This was to be my new home? I’d been promised privacy and safety. WordPress provided the shell and here I would build my second life.

 

door3

 

The code worked without a hitch. The door slid open on newly oiled hinges and I stepped inside a massive, cavernous empty space.

“Hello?” I called out, though I knew no one was there.  A silly instinct, but my nerves were threatening to send me running.

A single bare bulb lit the space. There weren’t any walls, just boxes scattered around that would serve as building materials. Themes and widgets to create a blog that would draw others in. It was up to me to write the posts that would keep them coming.

My sneakers made a shuffling noise as I began arranging those boxes to make a room. I’d call it “author-in-training” and maybe figure out a better name eventually. Something catchy like “I’m an Author, so buy my book.” Or “Wouldn’t you like to buy my book, you know, when it’s finally edited and ready to be bought?

Like every new house, a blog needs constant re-arranging to make it feel familiar. Figured I’d write about writing, garner some insight from all my wonderful reader’s comments and then strike out – well, more like, peek around, my neighbor’s warehouses and see who was home.

It’s a learning curve. The boxes didn’t provide enough cheer, so I added more content- humor where possible and now they are starting to come. A warm hello from a woman called “Mom” and other familiar faces from my previous blogging life are stopping by and leaving a comment. Each of you add a dash of color to my space – like a wonderful painting I can now hang on one of my crude walls.

I’ve begun following and liking and reblogging, knowing that when I give to others, they give back. And I’m moving things around and adding a few big, overstuffed chairs. Now it feels comfortable, more like home, but something is still missing. As much as I love this blog, just outside my temporary walls is a vast warehouse; dark, rough and untouched and I know what it needs.

You.

It needs you.

So, I invite you to join me. Bring a favorite mug. Have a seat and we’ll share a plate of warm, gooey cookies and laugh about this crazy journey called life. And who knows, maybe we’ll become good chums as we commiserate on the daft world of publishing and chuckle about the utter stupidity that is Twitter.

I’ll keep the tea warm for you…

Sue

(Photos note – taken by me and edited by my uber-talented daughter. Thank you Mckenna!)

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sue’s Second Life…

  1. Judith Post says:

    What a warm, fuzzy blog post. Felt cozy and inviting.

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    I flippin love this post! I have a ba-jillion ideas for you…but…I’m off to Asheville tomorrow with one of my daughters who is interviewing for a job out there. I’ll be spotty on attentiveness between now and probably Monday. Message me a good email address (I’ll just leave the comment unapproved) and maybe I can send you some idea stuff that-a-way! These photos are incredible!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. throwbackwords says:

    Love your post..Seems you are lively in your life..cherx.
    Can you please visit my blog…
    http://throwbackwords.wordpress.com/near-to-fiction-hope/
    Love to know your views…Thanksss

    Like

  4. Lori Lipsky says:

    The author-in-training subtitle is terrific…until you sell some books. Then you’ll need to come up with something more authorific.
    Does your comment on the bottom mean you aren’t on Twitter? I’ve neglected it lately, but when I head back over shall I look for you?
    Keep writing. Your post was delightful, as are you! ~Lori

    Like

    • Authorific! Perfect!!
      Yes, I’m on twitter – susanbahr@kathlinmaguire. Not that I’ve found it to be too helpful. Maybe if you are there… then it’ll be fun!
      Thanks for the sweet comment. (this is me, blushing)
      cheers-
      LN

      Like

  5. Judith Post says:

    I got a blog post from you, Call Me Crazy, that I really enjoyed, but when I try to comment, I get that the post “Can’t Be Found.” Not sure what happened, but it’s a great post!

    Like

  6. Truly it is! You can comment here so what’s the diff? I’ll have to go to my dashboard and see if there’s something wonky going on. Thanks for letting me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

