Pale legs and mismatched socks…

shoes2

 I’m too old for these shoes, or so I”ve been told. But I am who I am. 

Pale legs and mismatched socks and all.

So, let’s get all the shameless self-promotion out of the way first. My last post revealed I have no qualms begging for readers. For consistency’s sake, here are the links to my wattpad account:

http://www.wattpad.com/story/22556779-fairless

http://www.wattpad.com/story/22613860-summoned

 

Get used to it. You’ll probably see them again.

 

Now that you’re all caught up, we can resume discussing the topic at hand. Which is just how in hell do you find readers? Where are they?  You know, the ones who love to curl up with a good book and a glass of wine and they’re NOT thinking…

hmmm, this sentence structure is weak. And the character bites her lip over and over again… and what’s with that description. Do eyes really “flick”?

How do we cultivate readers who read for the love of reading and expect nothing in return except entertainment?

I’ll be honest. I don’t know.

But I do know I’m asking the right question. Because the search for the elusive reader is important. Bag one and you can build a base. Bag a dozen and you’ve got momentum. (Maybe I should quit using this metaphor. It’s creeping me out.)

Like the photo of my little feet, I suspect brutal honesty is involved. Be yourself. Be transparent. Build relationships. And most of all, honor the reader by only submitting the best material you’ve got.

So… care to share your thoughts?

Cheers!

Sue

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pale legs and mismatched socks…

  1. Lori Lipsky says:

    Oh boy, I’m happy to see you here. Promote away…I’d love to read what you’re writing. If you’re selling, I’ll take two.

    Nice shoes, by the way…and pale is the new tan, I’m sure.
    All the best. ~Lori

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey LL!
      so nice to see your lovely smile! Thanks for the encouraging words. As to the selling – not yet. Still a work in progress. But I’m getting there!
      As to the tan. One must embrace their limitations, right? This French skin just refuses to get a healthy summer glow.
      thanks again!
      LN

      Like

  2. Connie Berry says:

    Great to hear your voice again

    Like

  3. I love your mis-matched socks and speaking as someone who is part Irish I totally feel your pale legs pain. I’m not sure what the answer is regarding readers. I’m working on my first YA book though, so if you find a magic spell will you share?

    Liked by 1 person

    • My magic spell is as illusive as yours! I guess that’s why I’m exploring this topic–trying to discover what works and what doesn’t.
      and I LOVE YA! Care to share? Are you on wattpad? It’s a great way to get some feedback, maybe some followers.

      Like

  4. Mom says:

    Haha! Love the shoes and the “dryer” socks! I’ve gone pale too. Now I’m spending lots of bucks undoing all those lovely previous tans and the fairy kisses (aka freckles/ age spots) they left behind! Have you seen the Harper Collins thingy where readers graze and then review? It’s kinda cool if you have the nerves for it 🙂

    Like

    • fairy kisses? Why would you want to get rid of those? They are our history. They tell the story of countless summer days frolicking on a sandy beach wearing skinny bikinis and sipping margaritas… oh wait. That’s someone ELSE’S history.
      Sigh.
      Here’s to us pale faces!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not on Wattpad yet, but I think I might try it when I’m ready. I only have 28 handwritten pages so far. It’s tentatively titled Hunters Hall and is basically my ode to the tv show Supernatural only with entirely new characters.

    Like

  6. Judith Post says:

    Wish I knew how to find readers. I think it takes time. It helps to comment on other peoples’ blogs and tweets. Once your book is finished and on amazon and other e-book sites, I’ve had luck advertising mine. Have you read Lindsay Buroker’s blog? She’s great at sharing promo tips.

    Like

    • Susan bahr says:

      Yes, I think it takes time. Have to build relationships. Thanks for the tip- I’ll check it out.
      Thanks to you, I’m on Wattpad now and loving it. Love the adventure and the possibility of connecting with readers.
      And, I’m enjoying your book. More, please!

      Like

  7. mlrover says:

    Writers are stumbling around, throwing everything at the wall to see if it sticks. The thing is to be ready for the next big change. It doesn’t matter if your sign up for traditional or go indie. I’ve had my best luck by have 12 titles up. If a reader likes one, the others get bought. My advice is to do it all. Blog, FB, twitter, blog tours, interviews, radio spots, anything and everything. Catchy titles help. My boring title doesn’t sell as well as the semi-smutty one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

