Editing. Oh, so much fun…

pencil-2269_640

 

There are many things I wish I knew from the start of my writing career. I say career with a hopeful smile. Nope, not published yet. But that’s okay–I’m looking at the past three years as development. All those Kindle books on writing how-tos are bound to pay off one of these days…

It’s just… if I could go back to when the first story knocked me off my rocker and carried me to my computer, I would do so armed with knowledge that would save me countless hours.

Hours of micro-editing when I didn’t have a handle on the BIG picture.

Hours of messing with words when the characters needed CPR. Or a quick burial.

outline-33102_150

Hours and hours of wasted editing.

Somewhere in my kindle reading, I stumbled upon a concept that resonated. Re-envisioning. Take each scene and let it play out in your head. Visualize the characters and the story.  Forget the words. What is the character feeling? Seeing? Doing? Then ask yourself “What does the story need to be stronger?”

 

face-372101_640

 

My story number 2 is better for this type of editing. I know it’s grammatically a mess. But hey, isn’t that what editors are for?

So, what do you think? What works for you? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

cheers!

Sue

 

 

 

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Editing. Oh, so much fun…

  1. I think you’ve got it 100% right.

    Much of my confusion has centered around ignorance of the differences between literary fiction and popular fiction. The more I learn about those differences, the more I’m able to see what I needed to do as a writer.

    I want to write popular fiction so I need to avoid becoming “sophisticated” as a reader because it will make me lose my love and appreciation of popular fiction. Maybe that’s just me. But I think all writers would do well to differentiate between the “How To” rules of literary fiction and those of popular fiction. They’re like water and oil sometimes.

    Like

    • What a great thing to think about as one defines their writing career! I want to write popular fiction too. It still helps to study plotting and the structure of the “universal story.” Maybe more so since that’s what a typical reader expects. Not that I want to create cookie cutter novels. Although…. it might be nice to be rich.

      Like

  2. yellow2180 says:

    I don’t know if it’s a little late to say this considering I only just learned about this site but, in my opinion you are never too old for mismatched socks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

