take that steady stream and keep on trucking…

girl-158465_640

 

So, here is where I’m an outliner, of sorts. Not really, but follow along and you’ll get the idea.

After free-writing pages of material, I cut each numbered paragraph apart (remember, they represent chapters?) and paste them on index cards. Now I can move the chapters around or edit or toss some all together. I keep index cards handy when I’m crafting new chapters. On each, I put the time of day, season, where the chapter takes place, who is in it and a brief synopsis. When completed (this is where I usually say voila), I have a synopsis of the entire book.

So, how do you keep track of your masterful plot? Care to share?

Happy trucking!

Sue

About Sue, the YA Author

My passion includes writing and reading contemporary and fantasy young adult books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to take that steady stream and keep on trucking…

  1. So far I haven’t been able to stick to my outline, or even to the plot of the novel that I’m rewriting. I don’t have a good way of keeping track of the plot that’s already there. I just try to remember it, and when that doesn’t work I have to go back and read it again. Your method sounds interesting. I like having something in the 3-D world beside me. I use a pad to “preview” things each time before I write. I describe it and give credit and a link to the author from whom I learned it on my blog in a post called, “Writing fast is interesting and fun” at http://www.storiform.com.

    Thanks for sharing your method. I love outliers. 🙂 I love writing about them and imaging myself to be one when I’ve had enough coffee.

    Like

    • I wish I could say I really WAS an outliner. I take it as far as I can, but then I also have to let the story unfold. Thanks for swinging by! It’s nice to hear your thoughts on writing!
      Cheers –
      Sue

      Like

  2. It’s nice to hear your thoughts, too!
    Cheers-
    Talmage

    Like

Leave a Reply

